"Add exosomes" has become a standard line on clinic microneedling menus: a vial of vesicles applied to the skin straight after the needles, at an extra charge. This page sets out what is actually in such a vial, what the published studies measured, what FDA has said, and what clinics document as the price, all as of 27 October 2026. It is not advice about whether to have the treatment. What exosome skincare labels declare is counted on our exosomes in skincare page, and the comparison with salmon-DNA boosters is on PDRN vs exosomes.
What "exosomes" in a clinic vial are
Exosomes are extracellular vesicles: particles tens to a hundred-odd nanometres across, wrapped in membrane and carrying proteins, lipids and RNA from the cell that released them. The word on a vial says nothing about which cell that was. In the human studies read for this page, the vesicles came from:
| Source named in the study | Studies read |
|---|---|
| Human adipose (fat-derived) stem cells | Korean split-face trial 2023; US exosome-versus-PRP trial 2025; Mexican hair study 2026 |
| "Stem cell-derived", cell type not stated in the abstract | Korean pore case series 2025 (3 patients) |
| Wharton's jelly (umbilical cord) stem cells | US case series 2024 ("Age Zero") |
| Plants (rose, ginseng, others) | Rose-stem-cell pigmentation series 2024; ginseng pigmentation report 2025; plant-vesicle hair series 2026 |
| Salmon | Pilot hair study 2026 |
| Bacteria (Lactobacillus) | Acne and scarring report 2025 |
That spread is the first thing to know about the evidence. A result from one source does not transfer to another, because the cargo differs. "Exosome" here names a delivery package, not an ingredient.
The census
We searched PubMed on 27 October 2026 for exosomes or extracellular vesicles together with microneedling, and read every title.
| Search | Records |
|---|---|
| Exosome or extracellular vesicle terms + microneedling | 51 |
| The same + any microneedle term (microneedle, microneedles, microneedling) | 264 |
| Any microneedle term, tagged randomized or clinical trial | 3 |
| Any microneedle term, tagged retracted | 0 |
| Control: microneedling alone | 1,194 |
The word trap. The larger 264-record set looks like a substantial literature. Read by title, most of it is not about the clinic procedure at all. It describes engineered microneedle patches, dissolvable arrays loaded with vesicles, tested for diabetic wounds, tendon repair, scars, psoriasis, even heart muscle in pigs. Those are drug-delivery devices, mostly in animals. The narrower 51 records that use the word "microneedling" are the ones about the treatment clinics sell, and about two in five of those are reviews.
What the human studies in the 51 are. By design: three controlled split-face trials (below); one 30-person single-arm hair study by the developer of an exosome product (registered as NCT06571799); a 40-patient retrospective chart review from one Korean clinic; a 3-patient pore case series; a split-face observational study; several single-patient case reports; and one adverse-event report.
The three controlled trials
All three are split-face: one side of each person's face got the procedure plus vesicles, the other side the procedure plus something else.
- Park et al., 2023 (Korea, Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, 28 people). Microneedling with an adipose stem-cell exosome solution on one side, microneedling with saline on the other; three sessions three weeks apart, six weeks of follow-up. The exosome side scored higher on the Global Aesthetic Improvement Scale (p = 0.005) and on instrument measures of wrinkles, elasticity, hydration and pigmentation. This is the only trial of the three with a placebo-like control, which makes it the closest the record comes to isolating what the vesicles add.
- Estupiñan, Ly and Goldberg, 2025 (New Jersey, Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology). Radiofrequency microneedling with adipose stem-cell exosomes on one side and platelet-rich plasma on the other, investigator-blinded, three sessions. The two sides improved equally, and biopsies showed no significant difference in collagen. The abstract does not state the number of participants. This trial compares exosomes with another add-on; it cannot say whether either beat the needling alone.
- Yen, Huang and Lin, 2026 (Taiwan, Journal of Craniofacial Surgery, 60 adults, 83% women). Radiofrequency microneedling plus a topical vesicle preparation against radiofrequency microneedling alone. At week 12 the wrinkle score improved 12.59 points on the vesicle side against 9.28 on the needling-only side, a paired difference of 3.32 points. The authors name the limits themselves: the study was unblinded, followed people for only 12 weeks, and took no biopsies.
Three small, short trials, two of them from aesthetic clinics, one with a saline side. None ran longer than about five months, none was large, and none tested the product on intact skin without needling.
The systematic review
A 2026 systematic review in the Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology (Dhaliwal, Moothathamby, Sokhal and Gkini, Queen Mary University of London and Royal London Hospital; authors declare no conflicts) is the summary most often quoted. It identified 256 unique references, appraised 10 and included 8 studies, with 3 to 60 participants each, covering hair loss, skin ageing, pigmentation, active scarring and enlarged pores. Its conclusion is cautious: the combination "holds great promise", and "more evidence is required" before its safety and efficacy can be established, with longer follow-up and larger samples needed. When this site read Google's AI Overview for this search on 26 October 2026, the same review was its one primary source; the rest of that answer was clinic pages.
What regulators have said
On 6 December 2019 FDA issued a public safety notification after serious adverse events in patients in Nebraska who had been given unapproved products marketed as containing exosomes. It states that there are currently no FDA-approved exosome products, and that exosomes used to treat diseases or conditions are regulated as drugs and biological products that need premarket review. (FDA's site refused automated retrieval tonight; the wording is as this site read and quoted it on 2 October 2026 on our exosomes page.)
That notice was aimed at injected clinic products. A serum sold as a cosmetic needs no FDA approval as long as it makes appearance claims only. Applying such a serum to skin that has just been punctured by needles is a use no regulator has evaluated, which is the gap this treatment sits in.
Reported harms
The trials reported mostly mild, short-lived redness and swelling, but they were too small to detect anything uncommon. Two dated records sit outside them:
- FDA's 2019 notification, above, which was prompted by serious adverse events.
- A 2026 report from Massachusetts General Hospital in Dermatologic Surgery (Myers, Chou, Sadeghi and Tsao): "Persistent Cutaneous Reaction After Facial Exosome Injections and Microneedling".
No denominator exists, so no rate can be given. What can be said is that the safety record is a few small trials plus case reports, which is the situation the 2026 review describes.
What clinics document as the price
No national fee survey reports a price for adding exosomes to microneedling, and none could for a treatment this new and this varied. What exists is individual clinic price lists. The one read for this page:
| Clinic | City | Read | Listed price |
|---|---|---|---|
| INNODERM Aesthetic Clinic | London | 27 Oct 2026 | Exosomes "from £300 per session"; a three-session course of exosomes with Morpheus8 radiofrequency microneedling, full face, £1,887 (about £629 a session) |
US clinic pages found in a search on the same date either showed no price in their page text or could not be tied to a named clinic and city, so none is quoted here. One clinic's number is an example, not a market rate.
What can fairly be said
Microneedling with exosomes rests on one saline-controlled split-face trial of 28 people, two other split-face trials that compared vesicles with platelet-rich plasma or with needling alone, and a handful of case series, most from clinics. A 2026 systematic review of eight studies calls for more evidence. No exosome product is FDA-approved, the vesicles in different vials come from different cells, and a 2026 hospital report describes a lasting reaction. Anyone weighing the add-on should ask what is in the specific vial, where it came from and what it is approved for, and take those answers to a dermatologist. For the same question asked about salmon DNA, see microneedling with copper peptides and PDRN; for scalp use, exosomes for hair.
Sources
Opened 27 October 2026: PubMed searches (exosome*[tiab] OR "extracellular vesicle*"[tiab]) AND microneedling[tiab] (51, every title read), the same with microneedl*[tiab] (264, titles read; with randomized controlled trial[pt] OR clinical trial[pt] 3; with retracted publication[pt] 0), and microneedling[tiab] (1,194, control); abstracts of PMIDs 42027180 (Dhaliwal 2026, PMC13107235), 37377400 (Park 2023), 40414798 (Estupiñan 2025), 42635327 (Yen 2026), 42301249 (Myers 2026), 41457905, 41037530, 40474926 and 39367640. FDA, "Public Safety Notification on Exosome Products", 6 December 2019, as read on 2 October 2026. INNODERM, "Exosomes London" price page (innodermclinics.co.uk), read 27 October 2026. Corrections go to the contact page.
