There is no formulation difference between a peptide serum and a peptide serum "for face". There is an evidence difference, and it runs the opposite way to what the phrasing suggests: the face is not a special case of the category, it is the only body site the category has ever been tested on.
The census
Run on 2026-09-19 against PubMed: topical, peptide, and skin ageing, photoaging or wrinkles in the title or abstract, filtered to the randomized controlled trial publication type. Ten records. We opened all ten and recorded where each one was applied or measured.
| Record | Year | Site named |
|---|---|---|
| Cyclized hexapeptide-9 vs retinol vs vehicle (PMID 40586182) | 2025 | Crow's feet, forehead |
| Recombinant collagen III injection plus multi-peptide serum (PMID 42087486) | 2026 | Split-face |
| Synthetic vs human-derived epidermal growth factor (PMID 42152512) | 2026 | Facial |
| Tripeptide/hexapeptide as laser adjunct (PMID 33051975) | 2020 | Split-face |
| Matrikine-like micro-protein complex (PMID 27050701) | 2016 | Periorbital, perioral |
| Zeaxanthin supplement plus topical serum (PMID 27312122) | 2016 | Facial lines |
| Niacinamide/peptide/retinyl propionate vs tretinoin (PMID 20374604) | 2010 | Facial, periorbital |
| OS-01 peptide barrier pilot (PMID 40193112) | 2025 | not stated |
| AI-derived pea peptide RTE62G (PMID 32453870) | 2020 | not stated |
| Occluded patch test of a cosmetic anti-ageing product (PMID 18070204) | 2008 | not stated |
Seven name a facial region. Three name no region at all. None names a non-facial one.
That is a cleaner result than we expected when the census was run, and it inverts the usual framing. A "for face" product is not making a narrower claim than a general peptide serum; it is making the only claim the published trials support. Every peptide promise attached to the neck, the chest, the hands, the body or the scalp is an extension from facial data, and the extension is not a finding — it is an assumption about skin that nobody has tested.
What the three silent records are
Worth naming, because silence is not the same as elsewhere.
The OS-01 pilot randomized 60 women aged 60 to 90 to a peptide formulation or a commercial moisturizer for 12 weeks and measured transepidermal water loss, hydration, pH and circulating cytokines. It reports skin parameters without stating a body region in the abstract. The pea-derived peptide paper is chiefly laboratory work — cell culture and ex vivo tissue — with clinical testing described as proof of concept. The 2008 patch test applied products under occlusion for 12 days in nine photoaged volunteers before biopsy and histology; an occluded patch is a standard dermatological method, but the abstract does not say where the patch was placed, and we will not fill that in from convention.
The measurement that does not exist
Here is the gap underneath all of this, and it is worth stating plainly because ingredient marketing leans on it constantly.
The standard reference for how thick human skin is at different body sites took biopsies from 71 volunteers at three sites and measured the stratum corneum and the cellular epidermis microscopically:
| Site | Stratum corneum | Cellular epidermis |
|---|---|---|
| Dorsal forearm | 18.3 µm (SD 4.9) | 56.6 µm (SD 11.5) |
| Shoulder | 11.0 µm (SD 2.2) | 70.3 µm (SD 13.6) |
| Buttock | 14.9 µm (SD 3.4) | 81.5 µm (SD 15.7) |
Forearm, shoulder, buttock. Not the face. Its conclusion is that body site largely explains the variation in epidermal thickness, with significant individual variation on top.
So the anatomy was characterised where the peptide trials did not run, and the peptide trials ran where the anatomy was not characterised. Anyone offering a precise argument about why a molecule of a given size penetrates facial skin but not the skin of the neck, or why a body lotion needs a different peptide load than a face serum, is reasoning past the published measurements in both directions. That the two literatures do not meet is a more useful thing for a reader to know than either one alone.
What this changes when reading a label
Three practical consequences, all of them about what a claim is resting on:
A facial claim is the supported one. If a product's evidence page cites a trial, that trial is nearly certainly facial, and usually periorbital or forehead specifically. That is a narrow region, and the honest reading is that the result belongs to it.
A body, neck or chest claim is transferred, not tested. No randomized peptide record in this census applied anything outside the face. Our entries on body formats and the eye area set out what each format's own literature contains.
The concentrations are small and rarely printed. The 2025 head-to-head used 0.002% of its peptide against 0.002% retinol; the 2010 regimen study measured itself against 0.02% tretinoin. Most products declare no percentage at all, which is the gap our guide to reading an ingredient list exists to close.
What would change this page
A randomized trial applying the same peptide at the same concentration to facial and non-facial skin in the same participants, measured with the same instrument, would change it. It would also be the first direct evidence that the site of application matters at all for this ingredient class. Until someone runs it, "for face" describes the whole evidence base rather than a segment of it.
For the format question rather than the region question — what the word serum does and does not mean, and which trials the category can claim — see our entry on peptide serums. For how the wrinkle endpoints themselves were measured, see the wrinkle count.
Sources
- Sandby-Møller J, Poulsen T, Wulf HC. Epidermal thickness at different body sites: relationship to age, gender, pigmentation, blood content, skin type and smoking habits. Acta Derm Venereol. 2003. PMID 14690333.
- Cyclized hexapeptide-9 versus retinol, randomized, double-blinded, active- and vehicle-controlled. J Cosmet Dermatol. 2025. PMID 40586182.
- Tripeptide and hexapeptide topical as adjunct to nonablative fractional resurfacing for photodamage: a randomized split-face trial. J Am Acad Dermatol group. 2020. PMID 33051975.
- A randomized, controlled comparative study of the wrinkle reduction benefits of a cosmetic niacinamide/peptide/retinyl propionate product regimen versus 0.02% tretinoin. 2010. PMID 20374604.
- A novel matrikine-like micro-protein complex technology for topical skin rejuvenation. 2016. PMID 27050701.
- OS-01 peptide topical formulation improves skin barrier function: a pilot 12-week clinical trial. J Cosmet Dermatol. 2025. PMID 40193112.
- Watson RE, et al. Repair of photoaged dermal matrix by topical application of a cosmetic 'antiageing' product. Br J Dermatol. 2008. PMID 18070204.
- Census counts: NCBI PubMed E-utilities, searched 2026-09-19.
