Peptide Glow Journal

Copper Peptides for Skin: What GHK-Cu Is, and What the Studies Show

Copper peptides for skin: the human GHK-Cu trials in one table (size, funding, duration), the vitamin C chemistry, and what the evidence does not show.

Peptide Glow Journal Editorial · Published 2026-09-05

Copper peptides are the rare beauty ingredient with a real molecule behind the marketing: GHK-Cu, a three-amino-acid fragment of your own plasma proteins bound to a copper ion. The less-advertised news is how little human skin data sits behind the claims. The current reviews cite six topical studies; of the four we could check, the largest has 71 women, the longest runs 12 weeks, two are conference abstracts, and the one randomized double-blind trial was paid for by the company whose serum it tested. Today's serums put it at 1%; no record we could open states what percentage the trials used. Below is the evidence base we could check, in one table.

What copper peptides are

GHK-Cu, copper tripeptide-1, and the names on an ingredient list

On an ingredient list the molecule appears as copper tripeptide-1. In papers it is GHK-Cu: glycine, histidine and lysine, complexed with a copper(II) ion. The 2024 review by Mortazavi and colleagues at Shahid Beheshti University of Medical Sciences gives the copper-free tripeptide GHK a weight of 340.4 daltons and the copper complex about 402.9. A palmitoylated cousin, Pal-GHK (578.8 Da), the lipophilic derivative in Matrixyl-type products, is a different ingredient.

Found in your own plasma

GHK was isolated in 1973 by Loren Pickart as a fraction of human albumin. The 2015 review by Pickart, Vasquez-Soltero and Margolina puts plasma GHK at about 200 ng/mL at age 20, falling to about 80 ng/mL by 60, the origin story every brand tells. All three authors list their affiliation as Skin Biology in Bellevue, Washington, Pickart's own company, which sells copper-peptide serums; the paper declares no conflict of interest. We note it because you should.

Carrier peptide, signal peptide, and why the copper matters

Dermatology reviews sort topical anti-aging peptides into signal, enzyme-inhibitor, neurotransmitter-inhibitor and carrier peptides (Gorouhi and Maibach, 2009); GHK-Cu is filed under both carrier (it ferries copper) and signal. The copper is a cofactor for lysyl oxidase, the enzyme that cross-links collagen and elastin, and cross-linking rises with copper in a dose-dependent way in laboratory matrices (Borkow, 2014), a review written by the chief medical scientist of Cupron Inc., whose products use copper oxide as their active ingredient.

How it is supposed to work, and where that evidence comes from

Fibroblast dishes, and the "31.2% of genes" number

The mechanistic case is almost entirely in vitro. The 2015 Pickart review reports that GHK-Cu at 1 to 10 nanomolar stimulated both synthesis and breakdown of collagen and glycosaminoglycans in fibroblast cultures, and that at 0.1 to 10 micromolar it increased epidermal stem-cell markers in skin equivalents; these are dishes, not faces, and the concentration reaching living dermis from a serum is unknown. The 2018 review by Pickart and Margolina states that GHK changed the expression of 31.2% of human genes by 50% or more in Connectivity Map data, a gene-chip readout from cultured cells, not a measurement in skin. That paper lists both authors at "R&D Skin Biology" and declares no external funding and no conflict.

The delivery problem: small enough, but water-loving and charged

The 500 Dalton rule (Bos and Meinardi, 2000) says molecules generally need to be under 500 Da to cross the stratum corneum; GHK-Cu at 402.9 Da qualifies. Mortazavi gives GHK a calculated logP of -2.24 and GHK-Cu -0.94, outside the 0 to 4 range that favors permeation, and notes the peptide is charged at physiological pH. The 2016 Badenhorst paper cites the group's earlier pre-formulation work giving GHK-Cu a logD of -2.49 at both pH 4.5 and 7.4, calls trans-epidermal delivery "challenging", and encapsulated it in a lipid nano-carrier for that reason.

The human topical studies we could check

Criteria for inclusion, reviewed 2026-09-05: a human study applying GHK-Cu to skin with a measured outcome, cited in at least one of the three current reviews (Pickart 2015, Pickart and Margolina 2018, Mortazavi 2024). The reviews cite six. Four are tabulated: the 2016 paper, which we opened, and the 1998 and 2002 studies, whose figures come from the reviews. Two more cited by Pickart, Krüger 2003 (a German-language pilot study in aged skin) and Finkley 2005 (a book chapter the reviews describe as a 12-week study of 67 women aged 50 to 59), could not be obtained and are listed in Sources rather than guessed at.

Study Year n Duration Vehicle and concentration stated? Outcome measure Funding / publication status
Abdulghani et al. 1998 20 (10 per arm) 1 month Creams on thighs; GHK-Cu vs melatonin in one group, vitamin C vs retinoic acid in the other; concentration not stated in reviews Procollagen synthesis on biopsy: up in 70% of GHK-Cu subjects, 50% vitamin C, 40% retinoic acid Journal cited differently by the reviews (see Sources); funding not stated
Leyden et al., facial cream 2002 71 women, mild to advanced photoaging 12 weeks Facial cream; concentration not stated in reviews Visible signs of photoaging, reported as reduced Conference abstract only (AAD 60th Annual Meeting, New Orleans, p. 68); no full paper indexed in PubMed; funding not stated
Leyden et al., eye cream 2002 41 women, mild to advanced photodamage 12 weeks Eye cream vs placebo and a vitamin-K eye cream; concentration not stated in reviews Lines, wrinkles, overall appearance; reported better than both controls Conference abstract only, same meeting, p. 69; funding not stated
Badenhorst et al. 2016 40 women aged 40 to 65, randomized to two split-face groups; 39 analyzed (19 in the Matrixyl comparison, 20 in the vehicle comparison) 8 weeks, twice daily Lipid nano-carrier serum (Snowberry New Radiance Face Serum) vs vehicle serum, and vs a Matrixyl 3000 product (StriVectin SD Advanced Intensive Concentrate); GHK-Cu percentage not stated Wrinkle depth and volume: serum -24.1% volume and -20.3% depth at 8 weeks vs vehicle -15.0% and -15.3% J Aging Sci, open access; funded by Snowberry New Zealand Ltd with a Callaghan Innovation grant; run at Dermatest GmbH

The column that matters most is the fifth: the one paper we could open gives no percentage and the reviews report none for the rest, so there is no human evidence for any particular percentage of GHK-Cu, including the 1% now standard in serums.

Reading Badenhorst: what "55.8% fewer wrinkles" means when the vehicle did 15%

The abstract of the 2016 paper says the GHK-Cu serum "significantly reduced wrinkle volume (55.8%; p<0.001)" compared with the control serum. It is a relative figure. Table 2 gives the absolute changes: wrinkle volume fell 24.1% (±8.6) on the serum side and 15.0% (±5.2) on the vehicle side, about nine percentage points apart; the vehicle serum with no peptide did most of the measured work. Against the Matrixyl 3000 product the relative advantage was 31.6% (p=0.004). Each comparison comes from a separate split-face group, 19 faces for the Matrixyl comparison and 20 for the vehicle, so "n=40" is really two roughly 20-person experiments (39 analyzed). Snowberry, which makes the serum, funded the study; the disclosure says it had no role in collecting or analyzing the data. None of this makes the result wrong; it makes it one small, sponsor-funded trial in a small open-access journal, with a modest absolute effect, which is not what the headline says.

The 71-woman study is a poster abstract

Leyden's 12-week facial cream study, the one most often quoted as the flagship, exists as an abstract in the proceedings of the 2002 American Academy of Dermatology meeting. No full paper is indexed in PubMed (an author search run 2026-09-05 returned zero records) and none of the three reviews cites one, so there are no methods to check and no numbers to quote. Percentages attached to it online appear in neither Pickart review and have no retrievable source.

What the evidence does not show

  • No published topical GHK-Cu trial has released a before-and-after photo set; the trials used biopsies and instruments.
  • No facial head-to-head against a retinoid exists; the 1998 comparison put GHK-Cu and retinoic acid on the thighs of different volunteers, 10 per arm, for one month.
  • No trial among the four we could check ran longer than 12 weeks.
  • No retrievable record states the percentage of GHK-Cu applied (the 2016 paper gives none; the reviews report none for 1998 or 2002), so no concentration has clinical support.
  • No study has looked at the "copper peptides ruined my skin" complaint, which Google listed as a related search when checked on 2026-09-05. The only adverse-event figure is 1 of 40 subjects in Badenhorst.
  • A PubMed search for "GHK-Cu topical skin clinical", run on 2026-09-05, returns six records: two reviews, one mouse study of an ionic-liquid delivery system for GHK-Cu, and three animal wound studies (rats 2003, rabbits 2006, and a 1996 dog study that injected rather than applied the peptide). Zero indexed human topical trials.
  • Mortazavi's 2024 review, the most recent by authors without a product to sell, states there is "a surprising absence of clinical studies" of GHK-Cu and Pal-GHK despite their wide use in anti-wrinkle products.

Concentrations: what products use vs what studies used

1% copper peptide serums: The Ordinary and NIOD

The Ordinary's Multi-Peptide + Copper Peptides 1% Serum lists copper tripeptide-1 as its fourth ingredient, at $32 per 30 mL. NIOD's Copper Amino Isolate Serum 3 1:1 pairs 1% GHK-Cu with 1% copper-free GHK at $62 per 15 mL. One percent of a 30 mL bottle is roughly 0.3 g of peptide, about 25 millimolar at 402.9 Da, three to seven orders of magnitude above the dish experiments. Given the hydrophilicity problem above, the label says what is in the bottle, not what gets into skin; the one trial with a measured facial result used a lipid nano-carrier, and no label distinguishes a 1% serum with a delivery strategy from one without. A serum roundup is a separate project on this site, gated on six-week tests that have not yet been run.

The 2014 CIR review evaluated "typical" use under 10 ppm

The Cosmetic Ingredient Review Expert Panel's final report of June 30, 2014 concluded that copper tripeptide-1 and its relatives are "safe in the present practices of use and concentration in cosmetics". The practices it surveyed are the instructive part: "typical use concentrations of these ingredients are < 10 ppm", with one industry submission reporting 1 to 30 ppm. Ten ppm is 0.001%; a 1% serum is a thousand times that, so today's concentrations post-date the review's own use data. The CIR is funded by the industry trade association and describes its Expert Panel as independent of it.

GHK-Cu before and after: what is real

Abdulghani took thigh biopsies and counted procollagen-producing fibroblasts; Badenhorst measured wrinkle depth in micrometers and volume in cubic millimeters by instrument; Leyden's abstracts have no retrievable methods. None is a photograph. A phone photo taken eight weeks apart varies in lighting, angle, distance, expression, hydration and every other product used in between, which is why trials use instruments. This page carries no imagery; per our testing notes, it will carry only unretouched photographs from our own six-week tests, which have not yet been run for copper peptides.

Copper peptides with vitamin C and retinoids

The chemistry that is real: free copper oxidizes ascorbate

The "don't mix with vitamin C" rule has a genuine chemical root. Shen and colleagues (2021) derived rate constants for copper(II)-catalyzed oxidation of ascorbic acid and found micromolar copper(II) a more important sink for ascorbate than reactive oxygen species; the reaction is catalytic, so a little copper keeps consuming vitamin C. They cite Buettner's 1988 work showing that without catalytic metals ascorbate barely autoxidizes at pH 7, a rate they put at about 6 × 10⁻⁷ per second. In solution, free copper and L-ascorbic acid are a poor pairing.

The question nobody has tested

Everything above concerns free copper ions in water. In GHK-Cu the copper is chelated by the peptide, and how much of it behaves like free copper in a finished serum, on skin, next to a vitamin C serum, has not been published anywhere we could find. One adjacent data point: Mortazavi's review summarizes stability work showing GHK-Cu itself degrades fastest in an oxidizing environment, 84.2% remaining after one hour in 0.5% hydrogen peroxide at 22 °C, while surviving 14 days at 60 °C at pH 5.5 and 7.4 without detectable loss. Keeping strong oxidizers away from the peptide protects the peptide, whatever it does to the vitamin C.

What the brands themselves say

The Ordinary's page instructs users not to combine its copper peptide serum with direct acids, direct vitamin C, EUK 134, retinoids, strong antioxidants, resveratrol and ferulic acid, or salicylic acid; NIOD's page for its 1% GHK-Cu serum lists no such restriction. Two brands, two answers; the pages ranking for this question when checked on 2026-09-05 split the same way, none citing a study, and we could find none.

Retinoids: no combination study exists

The only human data placing GHK-Cu near a retinoid is the 1998 thigh study, where they were tested on different people; no trial has applied both to the same face, together or on alternate nights. Ranking brand and skincare-blog pages (checked 2026-09-05) suggest alternating; that is a routine, not a finding, and we report it as such.

Side effects, and the "ruined my skin" searches

What exists: the CIR's 2014 conclusion that copper tripeptide-1 is safe as used; one minor skin reaction among 40 subjects in Badenhorst, on both the GHK-Cu and StriVectin sides of the face, which resolved after the subject stopped; and Healthline's 2020 guide, which lists redness, hives, itchiness and burns as signs of an allergic reaction. What does not exist: any study of how often people find copper peptides make their skin look worse, or why; we will not call it a purge or copper toxicity, because nobody has shown either. If a product causes redness, hives, itching or burning, stop using it; if the reaction persists or your skin is getting worse and you cannot tell why, see a dermatologist rather than a comment thread.

Who the trials studied

The trial populations were women: aged 40 to 65 in the 2016 trial, and women with mild to advanced photoaging (ages not reported in the reviews) in the 2002 abstracts, assessed over 8 to 12 weeks; no study has looked at people in their twenties, at men, or past three months. The measured effects were modest and instrument-detected (24% versus 15% in wrinkle volume is not something a mirror reliably reports), and the hair side of the ingredient is covered in our guide to peptides for hair growth.

Limitations of this evidence base

Four studies we could check (the reviews cite two more we could not obtain), the largest 71 people, two of them unreviewed abstracts, one sponsor-funded randomized trial run as two roughly 20-person comparisons; no concentration stated in any record we could open, nothing past 12 weeks, no photographs. The mechanistic literature is cell culture and gene chips, organized by reviews from a company selling the ingredient. GHK-Cu is also sold as an injectable research compound, which sits outside cosmetics and outside this publication's scope. A cosmetic, under US law, is an article for "cleansing, beautifying, promoting attractiveness, or altering the appearance", and appearance is what these trials measured; claims that copper peptides rebuild, repair or regenerate skin belong to the papers that made them, not to us. Our testing notes explain how this publication handles that line.

Sources

  • Pickart L, Vasquez-Soltero JM, Margolina A. GHK Peptide as a Natural Modulator of Multiple Cellular Pathways in Skin Regeneration. Biomed Res Int 2015. PMC4508379. Review; authors affiliated with Skin Biology, Bellevue WA.
  • Pickart L, Margolina A. Regenerative and Protective Actions of the GHK-Cu Peptide in the Light of the New Gene Data. Int J Mol Sci 2018;19(7):1987. PMC6073405. Review; authors affiliated with Skin Biology.
  • Mortazavi SM, Mohammadi Vadoud SA, Moghimi HR. Topically applied GHK as an anti-wrinkle peptide: Advantages, problems and prospective. BioImpacts 2025;15:30071 (online April 2024). PMC11830136. Review; no conflict declared.
  • Badenhorst T, Svirskis D, Merrilees M, Bolke L, Wu Z. Effects of GHK-Cu on MMP and TIMP Expression, Collagen and Elastin Production, and Facial Wrinkle Parameters. J Aging Sci 2016;4:166. PDF. Randomized double-blind trial; funded by Snowberry New Zealand Ltd and Callaghan Innovation.
  • Abdulghani A et al. Effects of topical creams containing vitamin C, a copper-binding peptide cream and melatonin compared with tretinoin on the ultrastructure of normal skin. 1998;1(4):136-141, cited as Disease Management and Clinical Outcomes by Pickart (2015, 2018) and as J Clin Outcomes Manag by Mortazavi (2024); primary paper not opened.
  • Leyden J, Stephens T, Finkey M, Appa Y, Barkovic S. Skin Care Benefits of Copper Peptide Containing Facial Cream; and Leyden J et al., Eye Creams. Proceedings of the American Academy of Dermatology 60th Annual Meeting, New Orleans, 22-27 February 2002, pp. 68-69, as cited by Pickart 2018; Pickart 2015 cites the facial abstract as "American Academy of Dermatology Meeting, February 2002, New York, NY", and this page follows the 2018 citation. Conference abstracts, cited via the reviews; no full paper indexed in PubMed (author search run 2026-09-05).
  • Krüger N et al. Topische Applikation eines Kupfertripeptidkomplexes: Pilotstudie bei gealterter Haut. J Dtsch Dermatol Ges 2003;1; and Krüger N et al., Kos Med 2003;24:31-33. Cited by Pickart 2018; not obtained.
  • Finkley M, Appa Y, Bhandarkar S. Copper Peptide and Skin. In: Elsner P, Maibach H, eds. Cosmeceuticals and Active Cosmetics: Drugs vs. Cosmetics. Marcel Dekker, 2005, pp. 549-563. Cited by Pickart 2015 and 2018, which describe a 12-week study of 67 women aged 50 to 59; not obtained.
  • Cosmetic Ingredient Review. Safety Assessment of Tripeptide-1, Hexapeptide-12, their Metal Salts and Fatty Acyl Derivatives, and Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-7 as Used in Cosmetics. Final report, June 30, 2014. PDF. Funding and Expert Panel independence per About CIR, accessed 2026-09-05.
  • Shen J, Griffiths PT, Campbell SJ, Utinger B, Kalberer M, Paulson SE. Ascorbate oxidation by iron, copper and reactive oxygen species. Sci Rep 2021;11:7417. PMC8016884.
  • Bos JD, Meinardi MM. The 500 Dalton rule for the skin penetration of chemical compounds and drugs. Exp Dermatol 2000;9(3):165-9. PubMed.
  • Gorouhi F, Maibach HI. Role of topical peptides in preventing or treating aged skin. Int J Cosmet Sci 2009;31(5):327-45. PubMed.
  • Borkow G. Using Copper to Improve the Well-Being of the Skin. Curr Chem Biol 2014. PMC4556990. Author affiliated with Cupron Inc.
  • Cherney K, reviewed by Perkins S. How Copper Peptides Assist the Health of Your Skin and Hair. Healthline, October 2020. Link.
  • The Ordinary, Multi-Peptide + Copper Peptides 1% Serum; NIOD, Copper Amino Isolate Serum 3 1:1. Brand pages, accessed 2026-09-05.
  • 21 U.S.C. § 321(g)(1) and (i), Cornell LII.

Published by Peptide Glow Journal Editorial. Products named on this page are formulation examples; nothing here is ranked, scored or affiliate-linked.

Frequently asked questions

Do copper peptides actually work for skin?

Four small human topical studies could be checked; the reviews cite two more that could not be obtained. The largest checkable one (71 women, 12 weeks, 2002) reported reduced visible signs of photoaging but was published only as a conference abstract. The one randomized double-blind trial (40 women aged 40 to 65, 8 weeks, 2016) reported wrinkle volume down 24.1% with a nano-carrier GHK-Cu serum versus 15.0% with the vehicle alone, and was funded by the serum's maker. A 2024 pharmaceutics review notes 'a surprising absence of clinical studies'. So: some measured improvement in small, industry-linked trials, nothing like the evidence base behind retinoids.

What should you not mix copper peptides with?

The only verified chemistry is that free copper ions catalyze the oxidation of vitamin C (ascorbic acid) in solution. Whether GHK-bound copper in a finished serum does this on skin has not been tested. Brands disagree: The Ordinary says not to use its 1% copper peptide serum with direct vitamin C, direct acids, retinoids or strong antioxidants; NIOD's page lists no restriction. Keeping strong oxidizers away from GHK-Cu is reasonable on a different ground: GHK-Cu itself degrades fastest in oxidative conditions.

Is copper peptide better than retinol?

No facial head-to-head exists. The only comparison (1998) applied creams to the thighs of 20 volunteers for one month, 10 per arm, and reported more procollagen on biopsy in 70% of GHK-Cu users versus 40% with retinoic acid. That is a pilot, not a verdict. Retinoids have decades of larger trials; copper peptides have a handful of small ones, four of which could be checked.

What are the downsides of copper peptides?

The Cosmetic Ingredient Review panel (2014) found copper tripeptide-1 safe as used in cosmetics. In the 2016 trial, 1 of 40 women had a minor skin reaction that resolved after she stopped. There is no published study of the 'copper peptides ruined my skin' complaint, so its frequency is unknown. Practical downsides: the ingredient is water-loving and charged, so plain formulas may deliver little into skin, and the one trial paper we could open (2016) does not state its GHK-Cu percentage, while the reviews report none for the 1998 and 2002 studies.

How long do copper peptides take to work?

The trials measured change at one month (1998), 8 weeks (2016) and 12 weeks (2002). In the 2016 trial the serum-versus-Matrixyl 3000 comparison was measured at 4 and 8 weeks, and the paper says the difference was most marked between weeks 4 and 8; the serum-versus-vehicle comparison was reported at 8 weeks only. Product pages claim 4-, 8- and 12-week milestones, which are brand claims. Nothing longer than 12 weeks has been studied among the trials we could check.

What concentration of copper peptides is in serums?

The Ordinary's Multi-Peptide + Copper Peptides serum lists copper tripeptide-1 at 1% ($32 for 30 mL); NIOD CAIS3 lists 1% GHK-Cu plus 1% GHK ($62 for 15 mL). The 2014 CIR safety review described typical use of these peptides at under 10 ppm at that time. The one trial paper we could open (2016) does not state its GHK-Cu percentage, and the reviews report none for the 1998 and 2002 studies, so there is no evidence-based 'right' concentration.

Are copper peptide before-and-after photos real?

No published topical GHK-Cu trial released a before-and-after photo set; the trials measured skin by biopsy or by wrinkle depth and volume. Social-media photos are uncontrolled for lighting, angle and whatever else was used. This site will publish only its own unretouched photographs, if and when it runs its own six-week tests; none has been run for copper peptides yet.